My Whirlwind Book Tour

This is a London blog, but for the past two weeks I’ve been at the other end of the world.  Gracewing Books in Britain teamed up with Freedom Publishing in Australia to run a lecture tour which took me to Melbourne, Sydney, and Brisbane, and to bookshops, the Sydney Diocesan Adult Education Centre, hotels, lecture halls, Melbourne’s Caroline Chisholm Library, and more.

Topic of the talks was “Celebrating feasts and seasons”, and it was a pleasure to meet so many EWTN  viewers, who came up to tell me that they watch my show on EWTN regularly  It’s like belonging to a worldwide network of friends and warm-hearted colleagues.

A highlight of the trip was a visit to Cardinal George Pell in Sydney. He very kindly gave up time,  in what must be a very busy life, to chat with my husband Jamie and me at the Archbishop’s House, next to St Mary’s Cathedral in Sydney, and we were
able to talk over many things. The Cathedral has a most beautiful statue of Pope John Paul the Great – the first, so far, that I have seen giving that much-loved Pope that title. I asked Cardinal Pell if he thought that Pope John Paul would one day be beatified, and he said that he certainly thought so.

A lecture tour is fun, but something of a whirlwind: hands to shake, books to sign, old friends to greet, new ones to meet. Australia was beautiful in spring sunshine, and soon the wattle will be in bloom, and the jasmine will be scenting the
Melbourne gardens. During last year’s World Youth Day we invoked devotion to Our Lady of the Southern Cross, and prayed for a great revival of faith and a blessing on this Great South Land of the Holy Spirit.

